Range Report: Annealed Cases [Finished]

Talk about your 450b reloading experience, ask questions, etc...

Moderator: MudBug

Forum rules
Please try and keep it safe!

This information is the responsibility of the community, not the forum. 450bushmaster.net is not responsible if you blow yourselves up.

Range Report: Annealed Cases [Finished]

Postby Hoot » Mon Aug 27, 2012 9:11 pm

As of the time I'm writing this, there is a thread in progress regarding annealing. Not wishing to send yet another thread off on a tangent, I have posted this separately. This will consist of two parts. The first is a brief visitation about how I anneal my brass, including a brief video. The second part is what I achieved at the range today using annealed cases.

Part 1: Annealing

I'm self taught WRT annealing, but not before reading how a lot of other folks do it and then trying it on my own. My roots go back to metal shop in the 9th grade, but that was with steel, not brass. There is such a thing as too much where heating the brass is concerned. Some pretty ingenious people have crafted automated processes and they're poetry in motion to observe. I went for cheap and dirty without regard to touch labor content. As sure as there is more than one way to skin a cat, annealing is also open to personalization.

I own a handful of torches and each has it's place depending upon the task at hand. Since annealing requires both precision and consistency, the last thing you need to add to the process is the burden of split second timing. So you do not want to use a hot hot MAPP gas torch appropriate for sweating large pipes like this one:

with a wide, hot flame like this:

That is, unless you have Kung-Fu Lightning reflexes!

Here's my favorite, economical torch:

with a more manageable flame like this:

As for how to hold the cases, you can use a 3/8" screwdriver to socket adapter and a 1/2" socket like this:

Remember "Cheap and Dirty"