First reloads

Talk about your 450b reloading experience, ask questions, etc...

Moderator: MudBug

Forum rules
Please try and keep it safe!

This information is the responsibility of the community, not the forum. 450bushmaster.net is not responsible if you blow yourselves up.

First reloads

Postby Sesshoku » Thu Feb 04, 2016 3:07 pm

I made it to the range today with my first set of hand loads for testing with my rifle. I intended to rent a chronograph at the range but couldn't. They gave me a reason, but it's not important. Anyway, things went well today ... until they didn't. As I mentioned in a previous thread, I am brand new to reloading. I did take a class recently before I tried my first batch of loads, but I'm still as green as the grass in May.

So, I started out with a batch of 20 cartridges loaded with Hornady 250gr. FTX bullets and another group of 20 with the Barnes 200gr. XPB. I wanted to test four different loads with each bullet and based my starting points off the Hornady 9th edition manual, the Lyman AR manual and info from trusted forum members. Using Lil'Gun and WSR primers, I loaded the FTX bullets, starting at 38 gr. and working up to 39.5 gr. I then loaded the XPB bullets, starting at 38.5 gr and worked up to 40.0 gr.

I fired two round of factory ammo to start. I will say before I start that some of these groups would've been better if I'd done my part behind the trigger better. Anyway, it was cold at 26 degrees, but little to no wind. Though I was a bit nervous, I moved on to my hand loads. And this is what I got from the FTX bullets: