Lee crimp die shim

Talk about your 450b reloading experience, ask questions, etc...

Moderator: MudBug

Forum rules
Please try and keep it safe!

This information is the responsibility of the community, not the forum. 450bushmaster.net is not responsible if you blow yourselves up.

Lee crimp die shim

Postby Jp14495 » Fri Oct 21, 2016 3:30 pm

So I've been snooping around here a bit and doing quite a bit of reading and watching the videos. I'm getting ready to start reloading the bushmaster and have been getting all the stuff together to do it. As a side note i've been reloading 20+ years and dont use any factory ammo in any of my own 15+ guns, well except .22's lol.

Anyway my question on the lee side crimp die. Where did you guys come up with cutting off a half inch? And then why use shims? I get it to be able to put severial crimps on one case but does anyone do this? Why do this extra step? I work as a manual machinist so cutting the die down is no big deal. I plan on cutting it down the difference in length of the 45-70 to that of the 450b. So it puts the crimp at the neck just like it would have done on the 45-70. Any reason not too?? Am i missing something?
Jp14495

Re: Lee crimp die shim

Postby Hoot » Mon Oct 24, 2016 5:13 am

Welcome aboard JP.